From the Greek meaning 'heavy with wine'
A blog devoted to science and reason
Written after a glass or two of Pinot Noir.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

When Politicians are Smart

New Jersey Congressman Rush Holt is my hero this week.  This past Tuesday, he introduced House Resolution 41.  
Official Portrait
Expressing support for designation of February 12, 2013, as Darwin Day and recognizing the importance of science in the betterment of humanity.
Whereas Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution by the mechanism of natural selection, together with the monumental amount of scientific evidence he compiled to support it, provides humanity with a logical and intellectually compelling explanation for the diversity of life on Earth;
Whereas the validity of Darwin’s theory of evolution by nat- ural selection is further strongly supported by the mod- ern understanding of the science of genetics;
Whereas it has been the human curiosity and ingenuity exem- plified by Darwin that has promoted new scientific dis- coveries that have helped humanity solve many problems and improve living conditions;
Whereas the advancement of science must be protected from those unconcerned with the adverse impacts of global warming and climate change;
Whereas the teaching of creationism in some public schools compromises the scientific and academic integrity of the United States education systems;
Whereas Charles Darwin is a worthy symbol of scientific ad- vancement on which to focus and around which to build a global celebration of science and humanity intended to promote a common bond among all of Earth’s peoples; and
Whereas February 12, 2013, is the anniversary of the birth of Charles Darwin in 1809 and would be an appropriate date to designate as Darwin Day: Now, therefore, be it
Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
(1) supports the designation of Darwin Day;
(2) recognizes Charles Darwin as a worthy symbol on which to celebrate the achievements of reason, science, and the advancement of human knowledge.
Now for the bad news.  H. Res. 41 has been referred to the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.   Congressmen Lamar Smith, James Sensenbrenner, Paul Broun, Mo Brooks, and Dana Rohrabacher all serve on this committee.  You may remember them from Election Year Science.

CREDIT: Richard Milner Archive
(sigh) I'm not hopeful.

No comments:

Post a Comment